Tuscany by H, a Happy Evening by Mr F

What makes you feel most satisfied being an employee? Higher-than-market pay? Competitive C&B package? On top of these, perhaps you also need recognition from your boss.

How do you feel that you are recognised? Just like my model-like friend J, she is treated like an angel. On the New Year’s Eve before the last, we were so fortunate to be treated a happy dinner by her boss, where we bumped into our secondary school headmaster. Tonight, we had a no less happy evening at Tuscany by H, the Harlan’s restaurant that I haven’t tried (I have yet a tribute to pay to Friend Gluttony about H One).

What was most remarkable about the dinner? I think it is the pre-arranged everything by the boss remotely from Beijing with the chef (chef Alberto). I always like pre-arrangements, that you no longer need to use your brain to think after work. (Do guys understand that?)

Amongst all the dishes, the most memorable one was the first – scallop, which was specially reserved by Mr F. The tenderness of the meat and the richness of the sauce… I was so elated that I could only remember to take a picture of the remaining shells.

Next came the unexpected scrambled egg, that I thought that I could only tried once in my life. But tonight I was experiencing the second half time of it – scrambled egg with summer-time truffle (not white truffle). The scrambled egg cannot compare with Cipriani’s, but it was already satisfying.

What else? It was another signature dish reserved by Mr F – angel hair with Italian baby squids. What’s special was the squid roe which I tried for the very first time. I should say it’s special, and it stood out from the rest, meaning it unfortunately didn’t mix well with the whole of the pasta.

Between the two last main courses, unexpectedly the sea bass outweighed the Wagyu beef. Perhaps it’s because I am lucky enough to have tried Wagyu beef cooked in many different ways that I am sure that the way that Tuscany by H did is not the best amongst all. Back to the seabass accompanied with the clams, it was so tender and juicy that surprised each of us.

With half-opened eyes, I could no longer tell whether the dessert, the birthday cake, or the schnaps were good enough or what. Anyway, it did help make the moments our happiest.

About the drinks, including champagne, white and red… errr… I was most impressed that we seemed to have unlimited supply of water, sparkling or still, bottle after bottle. I no longer needed to care how much they charge a single bottle of water (or how much more they charge than the supermarket).

The moral is, treat your subordinates nicely, your subordinates and even their friends will remember you, even in their drunken state in the middle of the night. Mr F, if you chance to see this article, this is especially written in English dedicated to you.

When I start my work again the next day, I shall remember I should work even harder and complain no more of heachache or sleepiness.

Chef’s Table photo from Tuscany by H website

11 thoughts on “Tuscany by H, a Happy Evening by Mr F

  1. Wow! I’m so jealous! I’ve been working like a dog but boss never gave me a treat like that.Arr, I can make the pasta better, I think :p

  2. Nonono, working like a dog never deserves a treat. Besides, < HREF="http://lilianesque.blogspot.com/2007/01/blog-post_18.html" REL="nofollow">dogs’ life is just so envious<>. Do you cook lobster pasta? < HREF="http://lilianesque.blogspot.com/2006/08/blog-post_15.html" REL="nofollow">Harlan’s lobster linguine<> is really good!

  3. O, i should say i’ve been working like a stray dog!Lobster pasta ain’t too difficult to accomplish. And < HREF="http://minimalistcooking.blogspot.com/2006/10/tagliatelle-al-cappesante-_116075769536607488.html" REL="nofollow">MC’s tagliatelle<>is not bad either :p

  4. It took me quite a while to figure out what MC is… your tagliatelle seems yummy!Tell you a known secret – I don’t cook, because I’m already surrounded by a lot of good cooks. But I’m generous in giving mean comments.

  5. yeah, thank you Mr F & Ms J for giving us an unforgettable nite! and we are all queuing for vacancy in her company😛

  6. It’s not easy to get a pass from Super J, take an < HREF="http://www.highiqsociety.org/iq_tests/" REL="nofollow">IQ test<> first.Haha, miu miu knows what I mean.

發表迴響

